National Environmental Management: Air Quality Act, No 39 of 2004: Declaration of greenhouse gases as priority air pollutants

19 May 2014 1 min read Environmental Alert Article

Greenhouse gases have been declared priority air pollutants under the National Environmental Management: Air Quality Act, No 39 of 2004: Declaration Of Greenhouse Gases As Priority Air Pollutants (Declaration). These gases include carbon dioxide, methane, nitrous oxide, hydrofluorocarbons, perfluorocarbons and sulphur hexafluoride.

If a party conducts any activities in relation to these greenhouse gases identified in Annexure I of the Declaration (such as the manufacturing of chemicals that produce greenhouse gases) and produces more than 0.1 megatonne of any one of the gases per year, a prevention pollution plan must be submitted to the Minister.

Failure to submit such a plan is an offence and, on conviction, a party could be liable to a maximum fine or imprisonment of R10 million and 10 years respectively.

The information and material published on this website is provided for general purposes only and does not constitute legal advice. We make every effort to ensure that the content is updated regularly and to offer the most current and accurate information. Please consult one of our lawyers on any specific legal problem or matter. We accept no responsibility for any loss or damage, whether direct or consequential, which may arise from reliance on the information contained in these pages. Please refer to our full terms and conditions. Copyright © 2024 Cliffe Dekker Hofmeyr. All rights reserved. For permission to reproduce an article or publication, please contact us