11 January 2016 by Employment Alert

Planning for public holidays and extra public holidays in 2016

The remaining public holidays for 2016 are:

 

  • Human Rights Day
    Monday, 21 March 2016
  • Good Friday
    Friday, 25 March 2016
  • Family Day
    Monday, 28 March 2016
  • Freedom Day
    Wednesday, 27 April 2016
  • Workers’ Day
    Sunday, 1 May 2016
  • Public Holiday
    Monday, 2 May 2016
  • Youth Day
    Thursday, 16 June 2016
  • National Women’s Day
    Tuesday, 9 August 2016
  • Heritage Day
    Saturday, 24 September 2016
  • Day of Reconciliation
    Friday, 16 December 2016
  • Christmas Day
    Sunday, 25 December 2016
  • Day of Goodwill
    Monday, 26 December 2016
  • New Year’s Day
    Sunday, 1 January 2017
  • Public Holiday
    Monday, 2 January 2017

Workers’ Day on Sunday, 1 May 2016 is the only public holiday, except 1 January 2017 that falls on a Sunday. Monday the 2nd of May 2016 becomes an additional public holiday in terms of the Public Holidays Act.

Two consecutive public holidays, as opposed to one, impact more severely on working and shift arrangements. Employers need to consider and plan in advance for this occasion. Collective agreements and Bargaining Council Collective agreements may also govern public holidays, working arrangements and shifts.

Employees who are on strike on public holidays are not entitled to any remuneration as they would not have ‘ordinarily worked’ on any day of the strike, including the public holiday.

Employers can expect requests for additional days off on Friday, 17 June 2016 and Monday, 8 August 2016 to convert those periods into long weekends. Employers are advised to timeously make arrangements with employees who wish to take extra days off to take leave or to work in those days.

An additional public holiday may be expected for the local government elections which takes place between May and August 2016.

For more information contact our employment law practice or Faan Coetzee.

download PDF

The information and material published on this website is provided for general purposes only and does not constitute legal advice.

We make every effort to ensure that the content is updated regularly and to offer the most current and accurate information. Please consult one of our lawyers on any specific legal problem or matter.

We accept no responsibility for any loss or damage, whether direct or consequential, which may arise from reliance on the information contained in these pages.

Please refer to the full terms and conditions on the website.

Copyright © 2020 Cliffe Dekker Hofmeyr. All rights reserved. For permission to reproduce an article or publication, please contact us cliffedekkerhofmeyr@cdhlegal.com

You may also be interested in