DISPUTE RESOLUTION

PETROLEUM PRODUCTS AND THE LAWFULNESS OF THE 'ALLOCATION SYSTEM'

PETROLEUM PRODUCTS AND THE LAWFULNESS OF THE 'ALLOCATION SYSTEM'

Petroleum Products – the lawfulness of the 'Allocation System' used by the Controller of Petroleum Products (Controller) to consider the granting/refusal of retail and site licences in terms of the Petroleum Products Act, No 120 of 1977 (Petroleum Products Act).

In terms of s2E of the Petroleum Products Act the Minister of Energy (Minister) must prescribe a system for the allocation of site and retail licences by which the Controller is bound. The full bench of the North Gauteng High Court in the *Nine Nine Nine Nine Projects (Pty) Ltd v Minister: Department of Energy* 2012 JDR 0313 (GNP) held on 30 April 2014 that the Minister had not yet prescribed such a system for the allocation of site and retail licences by the Controller.

The court found:

"It is common cause that the Minister has not yet prescribed a "system" in terms of Section 2E of the Act. However, the reasons given for the decision [by the Department] seems to be a backdoor implementation of the system that does not exist because it seeks to limit the number of filling stations in a certain radius." The court thus formed the view that the system was implemented secretly and contrary to what is prescribed by the Petroleum Products Act as the 'system' should have been gazetted for public comment and such public comments considered before being promulgated. It follows that, if the system is being implemented by the Controller secretly, it may well be unlawful. The court has instructed the Minister to issue guidelines on factors that must be taken into account by applicants for retail and site licence applications in order to comply with each and every objective set-out in s2B of the Petroleum Products Act. To date no guidelines has been issued.

The Department of Energy's website reflects that, between 2007 and July 2014, the Controller decided approximately 3109 applications for site licences and/or retail licences. The possibility exist that a number of applications may have been refused based on the "backdoor implementation of the system" thereby "limiting the number of filling stations in a certain radius."

Should you require further information relating to the lawfulness of the methodology being adopted by the Controller, please contact Jackwell Feris on (T) 011 562 1825 or jackwell.feris@dlacdh.com.









CONTACT US

For more information about our Dispute Resolution practice and services, please contact:



Tim Fletcher National Practice Head Director T +27 (0)11 562 1061

E tim.fletcher@dlacdh.com



Grant Ford Regional Practice Head Director T +27 (0)21 405 6111

E grant.ford@dlacdh.com

Adine Abro Director

T +27 (0)11 562 1009

E adine.abro@dlacdh.com

Rov Barendse Director

T +27 (0)21 405 6177

E roy.barendse@dlacdh.com

Eugene Bester

Director

T +27 (0)11 562 1173 E eugene.bester@dlacdh.com

Pieter Conradie

Director

T +27 (0)11 562 1071

E pieter.conradie@dlacdh.com

Sonia de Vries

T +27 (0)11 562 1892

E sonia.devries@dlacdh.com

Lionel Egypt

Director

T +27 (0)21 481 6400 E lionel.egypt@dlacdh.com

Jackwell Feris

Director

T +27 (0)11 562 1825 E jackwell.feris@dlacdh.com

Thabile Fuhrmann

Director

+27 (0)11 562 1331

E thabile.fuhrmann@dlacdh.com

Munya Gwanzura

Director T +27 (0)11 562 1077

E munya.gwanzura@dlacdh.com

Craig Hindley

Director

T +27 (0)21 405 6188

E craig.hindley@dlacdh.com

Anja Hofmeyr

T +27 (0)11 562 1129 E anja.hofmeyr@dlacdh.com Willem Janse van Rensburg

T +27 (0)11 562 1110

T +27 (0)11 562 1189

T +27 (0)21 481 6396

T +27 (0)11 562 1056

Rishaban Moodley

T +27 (0)11 562 1666

T +27 (0)21 481 6385

E nick.muller@dlacdh.com

E richard.marcus@dlacdh.com

E burton.meyer@dlacdh.com

E rishaban.moodley@dlacdh.com

E julian.jones@dlacdh.com

Julian Jones

Richard Marcus

Burton Meyer

Director

Director

Nick Muller

Director

Director

Director

E willem.jansevanrensburg@dlacdh.com

Marius Potgieter

T +27 (0)11 562 1142

E marius.potgieter@dlacdh.com

Lucinde Rhoodie

Director

T +27 (0)21 405 6080

E lucinde.rhoodie@dlacdh.com

Brigit Rubinstein

Director

T +27 (0)21 481 6308

E brigit.rubinstein@dlacdh.com

Willie van Wyk

Director

T +27 (0)11 562 1057

E willie.vanwyk@dlacdh.com

Joe Whittle

Director T +27 (0)11 562 1138

E joe.whittle@dlacdh.com

Jonathan Witts-Hewinson

Director

T +27 (0)11 562 1146

E witts@dlacdh.com

Byron O'Connor

T +27 (0)11 562 1140

E byron.oconnor@dlacdh.com

This information is published for general information purposes and is not intended to constitute legal advice. Specialist legal advice should always be sought in relation to any particular situation. Cliffe Dekker Hofmeyr will accept no responsibility for any actions taken or not taken on the basis of this publication.

BBBEE STATUS: LEVEL THREE CONTRIBUTOR

JOHANNESBURG

1 Protea Place Sandton Johannesburg 2196, Private Bag X40 Benmore 2010 South Africa Dx 154 Randburg and Dx 42 Johannesburg

T +27 (0)11 562 1000 F +27 (0)11 562 1111 E jhb@dlacdh.com

CAPE TOWN

11 Buitengracht Street Cape Town 8001, PO Box 695 Cape Town 8000 South Africa Dx 5 Cape Town

T +27 (0)21 481 6300 F +27 (0)21 481 6388 E ctn@dlacdh.com

cliffedekkerhofmeyr.com

Cliffe Dekker Hofmeyr is a member of DLA Piper Group, an alliance of legal practices

©2014/1960CT14

